WHY DOES MY VANS TIMING KEEP GOING OUT!?

Suzuki van tech question and answers.
jezzza

Hi guys,

Im new to carbys, dizzies and all this other old school mechanical stuff!
So i have probably missed something!
(I have read the thread "How to tune up your car")
Cooling system is working correctly (when first tuned it didnt go past 1/3 way
Battery is brand new, and correct size
The Carby is a replaced item, changed fuel filter and new fuel lines
Linkages are smooth, and wires are all in tact

Anyways,
Ok i have this very frustrating issue, my vans timing keeps going out
I set the timing a couple weeks ago to 8*, set the idle and mixture
Previously I change the plugs and leads (gapped correctly)
Ran like a dream!
I idled a little higher, around 900-1000rpm because apparently I have a diapraghm leak in the dizzy (no idea on this one..)

Didnt even get through a full tank of fuel and now my timing is so far out that she wont even idle.. I have to take the dizzy out and put it back in the get the timing to be anywhere near "0" on the flywheel

WTF is going on.. why the hell does it keep going out?!

The only thing I havent checked is the dwell time, and I cant do this cause I dont have a dwell meter
Tez

Hi Jezzza.
If you're sure the timing is going out repeatedly by so much you must remove and refit the dizzy, then it sounds to me like your timing belt running the camshaft is jumping a tooth or two... (Maybe).

I've not seen/had it happen to me, but I have heard it is possible for these things to happen. I reckon if the timing belt was jumping a tooth though, It'd be one of those "you'd hear it, see/feel the response in the engine immediately, and think "holy crap! what was that" kind of a situation... So if it was the timing belt jumping, I think you'd have a fairly good idea that something is screwwy.