points gap

MightyBoy tech questions and answers.
Flinny

Had trouble getting hold of some points that would fit, my father thinks he has got hold of some but they could not tell him at what gap to set them-any help appreciated?Also disy cap has what looks like the mitsubishi symbol on it ,would this be right ? Now for the tricky one-i lost all power when i got car home, worked out a broken wire-good -fixed that now motor cranking will not fire(still got old points inand they are stuffed)battery seems to go flat but if i leave it for about 5-10 mins then try again its back to full charge again. I am no mechanic and would like to try and sort some problems out myself & not just rely on my mechanic to fix everything, for own self knowledge and back pocket. Last thing-is it possible to get hold of a manual, i have the handbook that obviously came with car when new but I would like a little more detail if possible. Its 1986 543cc lovely yellow mighty man...Thanks regards Flinny
jono

Gap: 0.4-0.5mm should do it.
Mitsubishi symbol? Hmm, not sure about that :? Might be better off getting a another one from Repco or something, but if it works....
You might have to do a full check - like points, plugs etc...
Speed Limited: I'm Pedalling as Fast as I Can
1987 Mighty Boy
Injected F8B (love it!)

http://www.freewebs.com/fitre/
Flinny

jono thanks for that went to your site and got all the specs i need, looks like i have a bit to do-back to the shed(again) But yeah disy cap & rotor definetly have the mits symbol on them both - ah the joys of a motor project hey-this maybe worse than motorbikes!
ceej

Just cause it has the bits-missing logo, doesn't mean its actually Mitsubishi motor corp, the ones that actually make cars.

Just a hint though, Check all of your fuses, check that you are getting spark, check that you are getting fuel and work from there. That way, you know where to start fixing rather than just waisting time and money on things that don't need to be done. :wink: